Chicago area I 14ers

Moderators: Shu, rand

ash13brook

Chicago area I 14ers

Post by ash13brook » Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:23 pm

Are there any I 14ers in the Chicago area? Let's make that Northeastern Illinois /Northwestern Indiana/Southwestern Michigan.
I am a complete rookie and am looking for someone with some knowledge to take a look at what I have and give me a little advice on what, if anything, I might need to get my boat on the water.
I wouldn't mind a test ride, either in my boat or someone else's to sort of get an idea of how the boat operates.
I'm more than willing to bring my boat to wherever for the help.

Thanks,
Matt Ashbrook

JakeSkala

Re: Chicago area I 14ers

Post by JakeSkala » Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:46 pm

Matt, We used to have 3 i14s out of Belmont and Corinthean but sadly everyone moved away 3 years ago. The remaining group is now near Minneapolis and Madison, WI. If you contact Robert at the MadisonSailingCenter and drive up there, I'm guessing he'd sort you out. I went there 2 weeks ago for a skiff outing and 3 boats went out. The group typically has a June regatta in Madison and July regatta on Lake Pepin and we plan to add another event next year. The old website was midwesthighperformancesailing.org but I think it expired. Best to contact madisonsailingcenter.com webmaster as Robert there will be posting regatta schedules and info or contact me. I have a B3 out of Minneapolis and will create a website for the midwest skiffs this winter. We have so few i14s we invite all forms of skiffs to the events. We did the Lukemia cup at Lake Carlyle a few years ago as there were 2 boats there around 2005-2006 but I don't the latest. If you contact me directly, I may be able help you out with your boat questions. What year is it and do you know the type and sail #? - Jake

ash13brook

Post by ash13brook » Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:24 am

Thanks for your reply.